19 June 2011

Can - Tago Mago (1971)

"This is one of those albums that everyone just needs to own, like Dark Side of the Moon, or something. CAN may not have the same kind of universal appeal as good ol' Floyd, but I just can't imagine life without a song like "Halleluhwah." If you've never heard it, it's basically just one fat drum groove -- actually the fattest drum groove ever -- for 18 minutes straight, with every damn artifact of psychedelic weirdness possible in the universe floating in and out of the mix like some sort of big sonic stew. There are guitar solos, yelling Japanese guys, tortured violins, tom-tom extravaganzas... it's simply amazing. And the funny thing is, the next song makes that one look normal! Simply own it, listen to it. " - Corbet - ProgArchives

- Holger Czukay / bass
- Michael Karoli / guitar
- Jaki Liebezeit / drums
- Irmin Schmidt / keyboards
- Damo Suzuki / vocals

1. Paperhouse (7:29)
2. Mushroom (4:08)
3. Oh Yeah (7:22)
4. Halleluhwah (18:32)
5. Aumgn (17:22)
6. Peking O (11:35)
7. Bring Me Coffee Or Tea (6:47)

Links In Comments